hummingwolf: Part of a julia fractal in colors of fire and smoke. (Fire-flavored fractal)
hummingwolf ([personal profile] hummingwolf) wrote2006-07-18 12:04 am

(no subject)

Here in the Metropolitan Washington region this week, the weather is coming straight from Hell and the atmosphere is a thick, ugly sludge that wants to suffocate us all. On the plus side, bus rides are free tomorrow (at least in the MD and VA suburbs).

In other news... wait, forget other news, it'll only depress you. Well, except for the news that pollution can be good for something: "EVERY cloud has a silver lining. A contaminated lake designated hazardous is turning out to be a source of novel chemicals that could help fight migraines and cancer."

So today, after wasting time here in the un-air-conditioned house long enough to develop various signs of personal impending doom (headache, dizziness, nausea, the desire to watch daytime TV), I finally dragged myself into the sunshine long enough to get myself to the library where I could relax, read magazines, and quietly freeze to death. I could stay in the climate-controlled building for only so long (about an hour) before I had to go back out into the burning world to thaw out, so the several hours I spent enjoying the A/C in the library & other buildings were combined with several miles of walking. It could almost average out to a happy medium.

One of the places I walked was a wooded path I must not have visited since the storms earlier in the month. On the streets closer to home, I'd seen a big tree or two leaning on a building, but most of the trees have been chopped up into manageable pieces before I've gotten to them. On and near the path today, huge trees were lying uprooted. People keep saying that we had something like a 300-year storm, but you might forget what that means till you've seen a bunch of 100- or 200-year-old trees scattered helplessly on the ground.

Smaller plants seem to be loving this weather, though. I stopped for a while to watch bumblebees and tiger swallowtails feasting in a garden planted with healthy, meticulously-arranged wildflowers. Also watched for a good long while when I passed by the pond with the Canada geese. The goslings are still considerably smaller than their parents, but their colors now are very much like those the adults wear.

Midnight now and I am turning into a pumpkin. Here's hoping the bedroom cools off enough and I don't wake up to discover that I've become a baked squash.

[identity profile] lyssabard.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 04:40 am (UTC)(link)
Heh, never thought I'd have to say this, but..."COOL! Could they please NOT clean it up so we can study more of this??!"

Damn, if the environment doesn't adapt. :) I love it.

As to the heat..it could be worse.

You could have my cold. :(
ext_3407: squiggly symbol floating over water (Default)

[identity profile] hummingwolf.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 01:07 pm (UTC)(link)
As to the heat..it could be worse.

You could have my cold. :(


Given the choice between having the heat making it impossible for me to sleep *and* giving me symptoms of heat exhaustion before I've barely even begun moving for the day (headache & nausea already? oh joy!), making me even more likely to pass out, leaving me unable to think actual thoughts for very long while wrecking my ability to sit upright and do mindless stuff at the computer to keep myself entertained during my continued headachy insomnia...

or having your cold *and* air-conditioning...

Well, exactly how bad is that cold? 'Cos right now, I'm thinking that both our bodies are being unkind to us, but at least you have A/C.

::hugs::

[identity profile] paradigm-palace.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 04:59 am (UTC)(link)
Mmmm...baked squash. You will be delicious! If there is one thing I hate worse than sweltering, record-setting summer heat then it is buildings that turn the AC up so high you have to walk back out into the sweltering, record-setting heat just to thaw out. I HATE that. It gives me such a headache to go from 100 degrees to 50 degrees in two seconds. Why can't they just leave the AC on a comfortable 72 degrees, or something?
ext_3407: squiggly symbol floating over water (Default)

[identity profile] hummingwolf.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 01:10 pm (UTC)(link)
No, not delicious! I'm a very stringy, chewy, yet oddly fatty squash. Maybe I'm a mutant gourd.

Yesterday the A/C felt *wonderful* when I first walked into the building. I really have no way of guessing how cold it was in there, because it took maybe half an hour to stop feeling like I was overheated.

[identity profile] paradigm-palace.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 02:00 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah. Over the top AC is better than no AC, at all. It just seems like it would be healthier to keep the AC temperature temperate instead of extreme. But I can't stand to be cold. I've often wondered what makes me crankier...extreme heat or extreme cold. I think the cold annoys me more. As long as I have enough drinking water and some shade from direct sunlight I can deal with the heat. When it gets below 35 degrees I don't even want to be alive :(

I hope you find some shade, today. I'll be thinking about you.

oh, not me!

[identity profile] heatherp8.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 04:07 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm just the opposite: I hate the heat. I mean, if you're cold, you can always put on additional garments, but let's face it: you can only take off so many clothes when it's hot ....unless you're in your own home, that is. LOL
I live in Florida and honey, the summers here are just w-a-a-ay too hot!!

Re: oh, not me!

[identity profile] paradigm-palace.livejournal.com 2006-07-19 05:32 am (UTC)(link)
It's so funny that you mentioned this because I was just telling my boyfriend the other day I wanted to move to Florida! Heh. I've been an Appalachian mountain girl all of my life and have nooooo idea why I'm having these impulses to move to the coast, lately. I visited the Gulf Coast in Florida for the first time in my life, last summer, and I've wanted to be there instead of here every day since I've come back home. How long have you lived in Florida?

Re: oh, not me!

[identity profile] heatherp8.livejournal.com 2006-07-19 04:01 pm (UTC)(link)
I moved to FL for the first time back in 1980.
Left again in 1993 and moved back in 1999.
Only once have I lived in FL without a/c and that was just horrible!!
I lived in Tennessee for five years and fell head over heels in love with the Smoky Mtns.
Even now I miss them.
What makes a mountain girl want to move to FL.....oh yeah, wait....THE OCEAN, right?
Despite my griping about the summer heat, I don't think i'd rather be anywhere but here.
Y'all come on down!!

Re: oh, not me!

[identity profile] paradigm-palace.livejournal.com 2006-07-20 08:53 am (UTC)(link)
Cool. Yeah, I can't imagine living in FL without an AC. I like it warm but that's just ridiculous. What part of TN did you live in? And how do you cope with the threat of hurricanes on the coast? It's a concern that I have about moving there.

Re: oh, not me!

[identity profile] heatherp8.livejournal.com 2006-07-21 05:23 pm (UTC)(link)
I lived 13 miles from the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in a lovely town called Maryville.
As for the hurricanes, well. Yeah they can be very nervewracking but *knock wood* our area hasn't been badly hit in many years.
We're in the proces of having a new house built so naturally, I'm really concerned about this precious new abode. But now with the new laws, it has to have extra protection - like big steel rods placed all around at intervals and steel bracing on all the junctions of the roof trusses.
It's a tradeoff - but I'll tell you - in the winter when everyone else is digging snow, I sure don't mind our nice weather. Being in Northeast Florida, it does still get cold here - but never snow.
Of course now that I've said that, we'll probably have a major blizzard this winter! LOL

Re: oh, not me!

[identity profile] paradigm-palace.livejournal.com 2006-07-22 04:33 am (UTC)(link)
I was so hoping you'd say that you lived in a town I'm familiar with!!! I have lived in Maryville, myself :) It is very quaint and wonderfully close to the Park. But I only lived in Maryville for a couple of months. I lived in Knoxville for about 5 years and now I'm in the Tri-Cities (Johnson City, Kingsport, Bristol) area. I love TN...the land, at least :)

If I move to FL I will probably want to be on the Gulf Coast, more specifically Northwest FL (Destin and such). I am in absolute *love* with the white sand beaches there. They amaze me.

whoa

[identity profile] heatherp8.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 04:04 pm (UTC)(link)
ohmigawd, I don't envy you having no a/c, dear heart!!!
Given the horrible heat indexes in your area - and everywhere else, it seems - it can even be dangerous to be without a/c. Please - take care of yourself!
But I agree wholeheartedly with your observation about the extremely c-c-cold a/c in most public buildings. Seems to me it should be universarlly agreed to maintain all thermostats at 72 degrees or thereabouts. It's very detrimental to our environment to keep those thermostats turned so low - it makes the heat pumps work overtime....and when everyone does it, uh - can you say "rolling power blackouts?"
Sorry I tend to go off on tangents where the heat is concerned.
Read my latest rant
Hang in there!
ext_3407: squiggly symbol floating over water (Default)

Re: whoa

[identity profile] hummingwolf.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 05:10 pm (UTC)(link)
Trying to take care of myself. I was planning to get out & find some air-conditioned place to be early in the day, but things haven't worked out as planned.